Our competitive edge

Due to a sophisticated formulation which is very close to the original, Degode was able to convince the EU authorities to dispense with the usually long-term and cost-intensive efficacy studies.
This means a significant competitive advantage for Degode. As a result of this unique regulatory study situation, Degode will be the first supplier within the EU.

Due to an experienced distribution partner, large market shares are obtained early on.

A large, established development and approval network

12 months before an original medicine becomes patent-free, generic companies may start work on the development of the reproduction (generic drug). After the development process, clinical trials are normally required for the approval of generics, which are cost-intensive. When the formulation had been submitted to the responsible authorities, Degode was pleased to receive the confirmation that the formulation is so close to the original that studies are not necessary as a result. This considerable cost saving is a great competitive advantage for Degode as it – as initial supplier – can act faster and secure a significant head start over its future competitors.

Customers arein a broader sense our license partners as they exclusively acquire the products & product rights. 

Our license agreements with the distribution partners are formulated in such a way that we only work together with companies that are experienced in the field of dermatology. The distribution partners must have a dedicated sales force in the countries and, of course, plan their sales reliably for the contract term (how many tubes per cream/gel per country).

The generic “Beloren” is a product which does not have to be newly established since the original product Skinoren was already launched worldwide on the dermatology market by Schering/Bayer in recent years. Our target group includes dermatologists, paediatricians and, to a lesser extent, general practitioners who are already the prescribing doctors of the original product Skinoren.

Social commitment

Degode also wishes to be socially committed; therefore, we donate 5 % of our profit to the research of the incurable epidermolysis bullosa, a dermatological disease which is associated with high suffering pressure for the affected people. For this purpose, we have entered into a co-operation with Prof. Dr. med. Kathrin Giehl,Center for Rare and Genetic Skin Diseases, Department of Dermatology and Allergology of the Ludwig-Maximilians-University (LMU) Munich.

  • The pharmaceutical company Degode launches the first generic drug against acne und rosacea on the market through crowd-investing. The product is a reimbursable and prescription drug.
  • Degode is the first manufacturer that offers the medicine as a generic (copy of a drug containing the same active ingredient) of the original which was patent-protected in the EU up to the end of 2018.
  • The original product Skinoren generates a worldwide annual turnover of approx. €150 m in over 70 countries. The global market for acne drugs is forecast to grow by 75 % (currently: 3.1 billion dollars worldwide). Source: Global Data
  • Normally, the approval process for generics is very time-consuming, as the development takes several years and costs tens of millions of euros
  • In addition, the chance of approval by the Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices BfArM at the first attempt is less than 10%.
  • Degodehas succeeded in developing a formulation so close to the original product that the EU authorities will dispense with the usual long-term studies at a cost of 14 million euros.
  • Degode was founded by Sven Schimansky-Wabra who, with more than 8 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry under his belt, already successfully accompanied the process of bringing a generic drug with 5 formulations to market authorization at Skin Care.
  • Furthermore, several experts from the pharmaceutical sector, namely Prof. Markus Veit, Prof. Martin Sieber and Dr. Francisco Harrison support him through their participation in the Advisory Council.
Prof. Markus Veit
Prof. Markus Veit
Prof. Dr. Martin Sieber
Prof. Dr. Martin Sieber
Dr. Francisco Harrison
Dr. Francisco Harrison
Sven Schimansky-Wabra
Sven Schimansky-Wabra

Unser Wettbewerbsvorteil

Durch ein ausgeklügeltes Rezept, nahe am Original, ist es Degode gelungen, dass die EU-Behörden auf die üblichen langjährigen und kostenintensiven Wirksamkeitsstudien verzichten.
Daraus resultiert für Degode ein erheblicher Wettbewerbsvorsprung. Durch diese einmalige regulatorische Studiensituation wird Degode der erste Anbieter innerhalb der EU sein.

Durch einen erfahrenen Vertriebspartner werden frühzeitig große Marktanteile generiert.

Etabliertes großes Entwicklungs- & Zulassungsnetzwerk

Generische Firmen können 12 Monate bevor ein Originalmedikament patentfrei wird, mit der Entwicklung zum Nachbau (Generika) beginnen. Normalerweise müssen nach dem Entwicklungsprozess kostenintensive Studien durchgeführt werden, um eine Zulassung genehmigt zu bekommen. Als Degode ihre Rezeptur bei den zuständigen Behörden eingereicht hat, erhielt sie die Bestätigung, dass die Rezeptur dem Original so nahe kam, dass diese Studien nicht notwendig sind. Diese erhebliche Kostenersparnis ist für Degode ein großer Wettbewerbsvorteil, da sie so als Erstanbieter schneller agieren und sich einen großen Vorsprung gegenüber zukünftigen Wettbewerbern sichern kann.

Kunden im weiteren Sinne sind für uns unsere Lizenzpartner, da sie die Produkte & Produktrechte exklusiv erwerben. 

Unsere Lizenzverträge mit den Vertriebspartnern sind so formuliert, dass wir nur mit in der Dermatologie erfahrenen Firmen zusammenarbeiten. Die Vertriebspartner müssen einen eigenen Außendienst in den Ländern haben und natürlich für die Vertragslaufzeit auch den Absatz (also wie viele Tuben pro Creme/Gel pro Land) verbindlich planen.

Das Generikum „Beloren“ ist ein Produkt, das nicht neu etabliert werden muss, da das Originalprodukt Skinoren bereits durch Schering/Bayer in den letzten Jahren auf den Dermatologen Markt weltweit gebracht wurde. Zu unserer Zielgruppe gehören Dermatologen, Kinderärzte und zum kleinen Anteil auch Allgemeinmediziner, die bereits die verschreibenden Ärzte des Originalprodukts Skinoren sind.

Soziales Engagement

Die Degode möchte sich auch sozial engagieren, daher spenden wir von dem Gewinn 5 % zu Gunsten der Erforschung der unheilbaren Schmetterlingskrankheit, einer dermatologischen Erkrankung, die mit einem hohen Leidensdruck für die Betroffenen verbunden ist. Zu diesem Zweck sind wir eine Kooperation mit Frau Prof. Dr. med. Kathrin Giehl, Zentrum für seltene und genetische Hautkrankheiten Klinik und Poliklinik für Dermatologie und Allergologie Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München eingegangen.

  • Das Pharma-Unternehmen Degode bringt das erste Generikum via Crowdinvesting  gegen Akne und Rosacea auf den Markt. Das Produkt ist ein erstattungsfähiges und verschreibungspflichtiges Medikament.
  • Degode ist der erste Hersteller, der das Medikament als Generikum (wirkstoffgleiche Kopie eines Medikaments) des bis Ende 2018 patentgeschützten Originals in der EU anbietet.
  • Das Originalprodukt Skinoren generiert einen jährlichen weltweiten Umsatz in über 70 Ländern von ca. 150 Mio. Euro. Dem weltweiten Markt für Akne-Medikamente wird ein Marktwachstum von 75 % (aktuell: 3,1 Mrd. Dollar weltweit) prognostiziert. Quelle Global Data
  • Normalerweise ist der Zulassungsprozess bei Generika sehr aufwändig, denn die Entwicklung benötigt mehrere Jahre Zeit und verursacht Kosten im zweistelligen Millionenbereich.
  • Hinzu kommt, dass die Chance einer Zulassung durch die BfArM (Bundesinstitut für Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte) im ersten Anlauf bei unter 10 % liegt.
  • Degode ist es gelungen, eine Rezeptur so nah am Originalprodukt zu entwickeln, dass die EU-Behörden auf die üblichen langjährigen Studien mit einem Aufwand i.H.v. 14 Mio. Euro verzichten.
  • Hinter Degode steht der Gründer Sven Schimansky-Wabra, der mit mehr als 8 Jahren Erfahrung in der Pharmaindustrie bereits erfolgreich ein Generikum mit 5 Formulierungen in der Skin Care zur Zulassungsreife gebracht hat
  • Durch ihre Mitarbeit im Beirat unterstützen ihn außerdem mehrere Experten aus dem Pharma-Bereich, wie Prof. Markus Veit, Prof. Martin Sieber und Dr. Francisco Harrison.
Prof. Markus Veit
Prof. Markus Veit
Prof. Dr. Martin Sieber
Prof. Dr. Martin Sieber
Dr. Francisco Harrison
Dr. Francisco Harrison
Sven Schimansky-Wabra
Sven Schimansky-Wabra